Hawthorn Foundation: for Missouri

September 20, 2018 Statement of the Hawthorn Foundation regarding the Economic Development Advancement Fund audit report from the Missouri State Auditor:

The Hawthorn Foundation is fully committed to financial transparency and we share our annual financials and independent audits on our website. We were pleased to provide information to the Department of Economic Development (DED) during their audit and appreciate the recommendations made by the State Auditor.

Hawthorn will continue to strive for complete transparency and reporting to ensure its compliance with all reporting requirements from DED.  Hawthorn will work closely with DED to implement further controls and guidelines to further increase public accountability and transparency as suggested in the audit recommendations.

Hawthorn's Newest Members  

Congratulations to our newest members:

About Hawthorn

The Hawthorn Foundation is a highly diverse group of Missouri leaders in business, education, economic development, healthcare and labor dedicated to making the state of Missouri stronger, thus developing a vibrant economy for the state of Missouri. Hawthorn was created as and remains a non-partisan, non-political organization of Missouri-based businesses and community leaders in statewide business recruitment, retention, and development efforts. Hawthorn also supports the State of Missouri government’s efforts to improve its effectiveness and efficiency to better serve its citizens.  The Missouri Partnership is an important "front wheel" component of the Hawthorn Foundation.  

Did you know? The partnership of the Department of Economic Development, the Hawthorn Foundation, and its representatives produce over $15 billion in annual Department of Defense payroll in the state of Missouri. This represents 6-7% of the state GDP.  

Ex-Officio Members

  • Senator Kit Bond (1973-1977, 1981-1985)

  • General John Ashcroft (1985-1993)

  • Governor Roger Wilson (2000-2001)

  • Governor Bob Holden (2001-2005)

  • Governor Matt Blunt (2005-2009)

  • Governor Jay Nixon (2009-2017)

  • Governor Eric Greitens (2017-2018)

  • Governor Michael L. Parson (2018- )

Upcoming Board Meeting

The next board meeting is Friday, November 16, 2018 at 9:30 AM. Register to attend on the Upcoming Events page.


Governor Parson's remarks at the Hawthorn Foundation June board meeting

A video tribute to Kit Bond from the Hawthorn Foundation’s celebration of its 35th Anniversary in March