Become a member today—contact Executive Director Steve Oslica by email, by phone at 314-343-6031, or by filling out our contact form.

The Hawthorn Foundation is made up of Missouri leaders supporting economic development. Hawthorn members join from every region of the state to work for the betterment of Missouri’s economy. Hawthorn supports the work of the executive branch of state government by  providing critical administrative support for a variety of economic development functions. Hawthorn supports a variety of initiatives including grants, studies, conferences and trade-related events.

As Hawthorn members, Missouri’s economic development organizations are eligible for discounts on Missouri Partnership cooperative marketing events, which are offered so organizations can increase their community’s visibility by leveraging the Partnership’s marketing presence at various events throughout the year. These events allow communities to take advantage of networking opportunities with industry executives, while also enjoying sponsorship and/or exhibition privileges secured by the Partnership at significantly lower than standard registration rates.

In addition to economic development work, Hawthorn strives to educate members by hosting quarterly luncheons—which are hosted at venues across the state—that feature presentations on Missouri’s economic drivers. Hawthorn events also provide networking opportunities with leaders across Missouri. Hawthorn welcomes everyone and values all members as a source of enrichment.

Did you know?  The partnership of the Department of Economic Development, the Hawthorn Foundation, and its representatives produce over $15 billion in annual Department of Defense payroll in the state of Missouri.  This represents over 5% of the state GDP.  

Current Members


Executive Committee

Alexander Cartwright: At-Large
University of Missouri

Mark Grimm: At-Large
Gilmore Bell

Marie Carmichael: At-Large
Missouri Development Finance Board

Rob Dixon: Director
Missouri Department of Economic Development

Al Purcell: Immediate Past Chair
Mosaic Life Care

Steve Oslica: Executive Director
Hawthorn Foundation 

Warren Erdman: Chair
Kansas City Southern Railroad

Rudy Farber: Secretary / Treasurer
Community Bank & Trust

Jim Curran: At Large
Electrical Connection

Marilyn Bush: At Large
Bank of America

John Sebree: Chair-Elect
Missouri Association of Realtors

Duane Simpson:  At-Large

Board of Governors

Sustaining Board Members

Board of Directors

Associate Members

McCownGordon Construction

Meramec Instrument Transformer

Norfolk Southern

St. Louis Cardinals

Union Pacific

US Bank

Veterans United Home Loans

WGU Missouri

Bi-State Development Agency

The Boeing Company

Certified Express, Inc (CEI)

Economic Development Council of St. Charles County

Empire District Electric

Enterprise Holdings

Maryville University

McCarthy Building Companies

Economic Development Partners

Friends of the Hawthorn Foundation

Missouri Energy Initiative (MEI)

Missouri Southern State University

Newmark Grubb Zimmer

Next Move Group

Northeast Missouri Electric Power Cooperative

Olsson Associates

Orscheln Products

Port KC

Ridewell Suspensions

Spirtas Worldwide

State Technical College of Missouri

Stifel Financial Corporation

Stinson, Leonard, Street, LLP

Striler Group

University of Central Missouri

White Goss Attorneys at Law

Wood, Cooper & Peterson LLC

ARCO Construction

Associated General Contractors of Missouri

Brewer Science

Callaway Electric Cooperative

Carmichael & Neal, P.C.

City Utilities of Springfield


Crowder College

Development Strategies


First State Bank & Trust of Caruthersville


Industrial Process Systems

Kevin C. Fleming, Esq.

Kit Bond Strategies (KBS)